Skip to content

DIY Compost Sifter

April 12, 2012

I had made a soil.compost sifter/screener last year and nearly broke my back sifting the small amount of compost that I had.  This year, I have more compost and have upgraded the original design for a greater ease of use.

The original design used some 2×2 stock with 3/8″ ply sides and metal lath as the screen (although hardware cloth would have worked).  This year I added some 2×4’s to the sides, mounted 1 1/2″ fixed casters on the bottom, and then made a base for it to ride back and forth on.  This was all mounted on a tablesaw stand base that I had kicking around.

This new screener allows me to slide it back and forth rapidly, without having to bend over and take the strain on my back.  It works like a charm.  If anyone is interested, I could post closer photos of the screener and base.

It is fun to screen your own compost from you composter.  You find all sorts of neat things, like banana stickers and the true pit shape of a mango!

Trying out the new compost sifter/screener.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Catt permalink
    April 14, 2012 2:56 am

    Please post an overhead photo of what you see when you are moving the screen and a photo from the other side too.

    Why not put a pail or something with sides under the sifter to catch some of the compost?

    • April 14, 2012 4:28 pm

      I will post some more pictures later today. The tarp works well for this because the compost tends to land in a larger area because of the shaking action. A bucket might catch some of it, but I would still have to clean up the stuff that didn’t land in the bucket. That, and the fact that I can just fold up the tarp and store the compost there until I need it.

Leave a Reply

